Department of Economics

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Header

Seminar Series

   
 
Seminars
2013 Asia Summer Institute in Behavioral Economics
Asian Meeting of the Econometric Society 2013
Past Events
The Department of Economics Seminars Series is usually held from Monday to Thursday, 4 - 5.30 pm.

All seminars are held at the Lim Tay Boh Seminar Room (AS2 03-12) unless otherwise mentioned. Upcoming seminars are subject to change.

If you are interested to present a seminar, please email Dr Song Changcheng.

To join the mailing list,
NUS users - https://groups.nus.edu.sg/NUSgroups/join.asp?groupname=ecs-seminar;
Others - Click to email

Semester 1, 2018/2019


Date
Topic
Speaker
Aug 2, Thu

China's Industrial Policy, Excess Capacity, and Fragmentation

Panle Jia Barwick
Cornell University
Aug 7, Tue Is Poverty Persistent?  Maitreesh Ghatak
London School of Economics
Aug 8, Wed

Inefficient Sorting under Output Sharing

Lam Wing Tung
Yale-NUS College
Aug 10, Fri

Identification in Nonparametric Models for Dynamic Treatment Effects

Sukjin Han
University of Texas at Austin
Aug 14, Tue Industrial policies in production networks Ernest Liu
Princeton University
Aug 15, Wed 4.30-5.45pm Lowering the bar and limiting the field: The effect of strategic risk-taking on selection contests Dawei Fang
Gothenburg University
Aug 16, Thu The Jesuits and Chinese Science Chicheng Ma
University of Hong Kong
Aug 21, Tue Household Saving, Financial Constraints, and the Current Account in China Kai Zhao
University of Connecticut
Aug 23, Thu Runoff Elections in the Lab Aniol Llorente-Saguer
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 24, Fri 10.30-12pm

Endowments, Exclusion, and Exchange

Venue: AS2/05-09

Maciej Kotowski
Harvard University
Aug 24, Fri

Survival of the fittest: the impact of the minimum wage of firm exit

Venue: AS2/05-09

Michael Luca
Harvard University
Aug 28, Tue Barriers to Mobility or Sorting? Sources and Aggregate Implications of Income Gaps across Sectors and Locations in Indonesia Tomasz Swiecki
University of British Columbia

Aug 29, Wed

2:30-4pm

Industrial policies in production networks

Ernest Liu
Princeton University
Aug 29, Wed Information Design in Multi-stage Games. Ludovic Renou
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 30, Thu

Behavioural Consequences of Adverse Early Life Experience: The Impact of the Culture Revolution

Xin Meng
Australian National University
Sep 3, Mon Some simple Bitcoin Economics Harald Uhlig
University of Chicago
Sep 4, Tue The Nature of Firm Growth Petr Sedlacek
University of Oxford
Sep 5, Wed Integrating School Districts: Balance, Diversity and Welfare Isa Hafalir
University of Technology Sydney
Sep 6, Thu The effects of Primary Care Chronic Disease Management in Rural China Karen Eggleston
Stanford University
Sep 11, Tue

Nonlinear Household Earnings Dynamics, Self-Insurance, And Welfare

Giulio Fella
Queen Mary University of London
Sep 12, Wed Diffusion Games Evan Sadler
Columbia University
Sep 18, Tue Agnostic Structural Disturbances (ASDs): Detecting and Reducing Misspecification in Empirical Macroeconomic Models Wouter den Haan
London School of Economics
Sep 19, Wed Lying and Deception in Games Joel Sobel
Professor of Economics, University of California, San Diego
Goh Keng Swee Professor, NUS
Sep 20, Thu What makes a successful entrepreneur? The effect of elite college and intergenerational transfer Naijia Guo
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sep 24, Mon Optimal Management of Evolving Hierarchies Jens Leth Hougaard
University of Copenhagen
Sep 25, Tue Games of Love and Hate Rajiv Vohra
Brown University
Sep 27, Thu Family Background, After-school Tutoring, and Student Achievement: Experimental Evidence from Rural China Hongliang Zhang
Hong Kong Baptist University
Oct 2, Tue Money, Banking and Financial Markets Fernando Martin
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Oct 2, Tue

Grandparents, Moms, or Dads?
Why children of teen mothers do worse in life

Kjell G. Salvanes
Norwegian School of Economics
Oct 4, Thu Neither Nature nor Nurture: The Impact of Maternal Education on Child Health Xiaoyan Lei
Peking University
Oct 5, Fri Prices and Inflation when Government Bonds are Net Wealth Marcus Hagedorn
University of Oslo
Oct 9, Tue

Stochastic discounting and the transmission of money supply shocks

Ivan Jaccard
European Central Bank
Oct 10, Wed

Biasing Unbiased Dynamic Contests

Stefano Barbieri
Tulane University
Oct 16, Tue Indeterminacy and Imperfect Information Thomas Lubik
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Oct 17, Wed Organizations and Coordination in a Diverse Population Liang Dai
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Oct 18, Thu

Erosion of State Power and the Political Boundaries of Corruption

Yang Xie
University of California, Riverside
Oct 19, Fri On The Volume of Redistribution: Across Income Levels and Across Groups Ravi Kanbur
Cornell University
Oct 23, Tue The Geography of Path Dependence Treb Allen
Dartmouth College
Oct 24, Wed

Money as minimal complexity

Graphical exchange mechanisms

Pradeep Dubey
Stony Brook University
Oct 25, Thu How Extensive are Air Pollution Spillovers?: An Application to China’s Manufacturing Productivity Brian Viard
Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Oct 30, Tue Missing growth from creative destruction Timo Boppart
Stockholm University
Oct 31, Wed Quality Versus Fit: Market Design and Externalities on Multidimensional Matching Platforms. Samuel Flanders
Asia School of Business
Nov 5, Mon Testing the Number of Regimes in Markov Regime Switching Models Hiroyuki Kasahara
University of British Columbia and Hitotsubashi University
Nov 5, Mon Misallocation, Selection, and Productivity: A Quantitative Analysis with Micro Data from China Diego Restuccia
University of Toronto
Nov 7, Wed

The Hot Hand Fallacy Fallacy

Joshua Miller
University of Alicante
Nov 9, Fri Treating Symmetric Buyers Asymmetrically Shraman Banerjee
O.P.Jindal Global University
Nov 13, Tue On the instability of banking and financial intermediation Cyril Monnet
University of Bern
Nov 14, Wed Mechanisms with Evidence: Commitment and Robustness Barton Lipman
Boston University
Nov 15, Thu Gender Differences in Politician Persistence Melanie Wasserman
University of California, Los Angeles
Nov 20, Tue Firm dynamics with frictional product and labor markets Leo Kaas
Goethe University Frankfurt
Nov 21, Wed Does Level-k Behavior Imply Level-k Thinking? Ye (Wendy) Jin
NYU Shanghai
Nov 22, Thu Uniform Nonparametric Series Inference for Dependent Data with an Application to the Search and Matching Model Jia Li
Duke University
Nov 23, Fri

Inference on Functionals under First Order Degeneracy

Venue: AS2/05-09

Qihui Chen
Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen
Nov 23, Fri 2:30-4pmri

Capital Embodied Structural Change

Venue: AS2/05-09

Julieta Caunedo
Cornell University
Nov 26, Mon Robust Estimation with Exponentially Tilted Hellinger Distance Bertille Antoine
Simon Fraser University
Nov 27, Tue The Rise of Market Power and the Macroeconomic Implications Jan Eeckhout
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Nov 28, Wed Sharing the revenues from broadcasting sport events  Juan Moreno-Ternero
Universidad Pablo de Olavide
Nov 29, Thu Pre-Colonial Warfare and Long-Run Development in India James Fenske
University of Warwick
Nov 30, Fri 11am-12pm

WTO Accession and China's Environmental Aggravation

Jintao Xu
Peking University
Nov 30, Fri Misinterpreting Others and the Fragility of Social Learning Ryota Iijima
Yale University
Dec 5, Wed Rationality and Common Belief of Rationality in Second-price Auction and English Auction Chih-Chun Yang
Academia Sinica
Dec 6, Thu 2:30-4pm

Labor Market Polarization in a System of Cities: The Case of France

Donald Davis
Columbia University
Dec 6, Thu

Selection with Skills: Evidence from Radiologists

David C.Chan
Stanford University
Dec 12, Wed Learning from Failures: Optimal Contract for Experimentation and Production Fahad Khalil
University of Washington
Dec 13, Thu  Assessing the Hype of Machine Learning for Empiricists Steven Lehrer
Queen’s University / NYU Shanghai
Dec 19 Wed Bottleneck Links, Essential Intermediaries, and Competing Paths of Diffusion in Networks Mihai Manea
Stony Brook University
Dec 20, Thu

Intrinsic Openness and Endogenous Institutional Quality

Yang Jiao
Dartmouth College & Fudan University