Department of Economics

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Header

Seminar Series

   
 
Seminars
2013 Asia Summer Institute in Behavioral Economics
Asian Meeting of the Econometric Society 2013
Past Events
The Department of Economics Seminars Series is usually held from Monday to Thursday, 4 - 5.30 pm.

All seminars are held at the Lim Tay Boh Seminar Room (AS2 03-12) unless otherwise mentioned. Upcoming seminars are subject to change.

If you are interested to present a seminar, please email Assoc Prof ZHONG Songfa.

To join the mailing list,
NUS users - https://groups.nus.edu.sg/NUSgroups/join.asp?groupname=ecs-seminar;
Others - Click to email

Semester 2, 2017/2018


Date
Topic
Speaker
Jan 25, Thu A Structural Model of Correlated Learning and Late-Mover Advantages: The Case of Statins Andrew Ching
University of Toronto
Feb 1, Thu Pledge-and-Review Bargaining Bard Harstad
University of Oslo
Feb 2, Fri
AS2 05-10
Price Customization and Targeting in Many-to-Many Matching Markets Alessandro Pavan
Northwestern University
Feb 20, Tue

Detecting deviations from stationarity of functional time series

(Joint Economics & Statistics)

Alexander Aue
University of California, Davis
Feb 22, Thu

Exporting out of Agriculture: The Impact of WTO Accession on Structural Transformation in China

Jessica Leight
American University
Feb 23, Fri
AS2 05-10
Air Pollution, Health Spending and Willingness to Pay for Clean Air in China Shanjun Li
Cornell University
Feb 28, Wed   Mingli Chen
University of Warwick
Mar 1, Thu   Anthony Heyes
University of Ottawa
Mar 5, Mon The geography of consumption Ferdinando Monte
Georgetown University
Mar 6, Tue Targeting Interventions in Networks Benjamin Golub
Harvard University
Mar 7, Wed

Quasi-Bayesian Model Selection

Mototsugu Shintani
University of Tokyo
Mar 8, Thu Parental Time and Material Investments in Rural Thailand Weerachart Kilenthong
University of the Thai Chamber of Commerce
Mar 9, Fri
AS2 05-10
Regressive Sin Taxes, with an Application to the Optimal Soda Tax Hunt Allcott
New York University
Mar 12, Mon Pricing When Customers Care about Fairness but Misinfer Markups Pascal Michaillat
Brown University
Mar 13, Tue Additive Belief-Based Utility' Collin Raymond
Purdue University
Mar 14, Wed Dynamic Quantile Models of Rational Behavior Antonio Galvao
University of Arizona
Mar 15, Thu   Brigitte Madrian
Harvard University
Mar 16, Fri
2-3:30 pm
  Marianne Bertrand
University of Chicago
Mar 16, Fri
AS2 05-10
Linear–quadratic–Gaussian (LQG) information design Takashi Ui
Hitotsubashi University
Mar 19, Mon Urbanization, Structural Transformation and
Rural-Urban Disparities in China and India
Amartya Lahiri
University of British Columbia
Mar 20, Tue   Youngsub Chun
Seoul National University
Mar 21, Wed   Koen Jochmans
University of Cambridge
Mar 22, Thu

Econographics: Towards a Parsimonious Theory of Economic Decision Making

Erik Snowberg
University of British Columbia
Mar 23, Fri
2-3:30 pm AS2 05-10
  Simon Anderson
University of Virginia
Mar 23, Fri
AS2 05-10
  Saki Bigio
University of California, Los Angeles
Mar 26, Mon   Martin Bodenstein
Federal Reserve Board
Apr 2, Mon   Ziv Hellman
Bar Ilan University
Apr 3, Tue   Chen Zhao
University of Hong Kong
Apr 5, Thu   Reshad Ahsan
University of Melbourne
Apr 9, Mon   Jan Grobovšek
University of Edinburgh
Apr 10, Tue   Jian Li
McGill University
Apr 12, Thu   Junjie Zhang
Duke Kunshan University
Apr 13, Fri
AS2 05-10
  Francesc Dilme
University of Bonn
Apr 16, Mon   Peter Morrow
University of Toronto
Apr 17, Tue   Kim-Sau Chung
Hong Kong Baptist University
Apr 19? Thu   Steven Lehrer
Queen’s University
Apr 20, Fri
AS2 05-10
  David Ahn
University of California, Berkeley
Apr 23, Mon   Kosuke Aoki
University of Tokyo
Apr 24, Tue   Biung-Ghi Ju
Seoul National University
Apr 25, Wed   Yuliy Sannikov
Stanford University
Apr 26, Thu   Heiwai Tang
Johns Hopkins University
Apr 27, Fri
AS2 05-10
  Yoram Halevy
University of Toronto
Apr 30, Mon   Morten Ravn
University College London
Apr 30, Mon @ ?
2-3:30pm

Amanda Friedenberg
Arizona State University
May 3, Thu   Tracy Xiao Liu
Tsinghua University
May 4, Fri @ ?   Geir Asheim
University of Oslo
May 7, Mon   Joseph Kaboski
University of Notre Dame
May 8, Tue   Pedro Bento
Texas A&M University
May 10, Thu   Chih Ming Tan
University of North Dakota
May 14, Mon   Jae Won Lee
University of Virginia
May 15, Tue   Chong Huang
University of California, Irvine
May 17, Thu   Eric Chyn
University of Virginia
May 21, Mon   Yongsung Chang
University of Rochester
May 22, Tue   Heng Liu
University of Michigan
May 24, Thu   Alexander Monge-Naranjo
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
May 28, Mon   Ronald Wolthoff
University of Toronto
? Jun 1, Fri @ ?   Mattias Polborn
Vanderbilt University
Jun 12, Tue   Florian Ploeckl
University of Adelaide
Jun 21, Thu   Karen Eggleston
Stanford University