Department of Economics

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Header

Seminar Series

   
 
Seminars
2013 Asia Summer Institute in Behavioral Economics
Asian Meeting of the Econometric Society 2013
Past Events
The Department of Economics Seminars Series is usually held from Monday to Thursday, 4 - 5.30 pm.

All seminars are held at the Lim Tay Boh Seminar Room (AS2 03-12) unless otherwise mentioned. Upcoming seminars are subject to change.

If you are interested to present a seminar, please email Dr Song Changcheng.

To join the mailing list,
NUS users - https://groups.nus.edu.sg/NUSgroups/join.asp?groupname=ecs-seminar;
Others - Click to email

Semester 1, 2018/2019


Date
Topic
Speaker
Aug 2, Thu

China's Industrial Policy, Excess Capacity, and Fragmentation

Panle Jia Barwick
Cornell University
Aug 7, Tue Is Poverty Persistent?  Maitreesh Ghatak
London School of Economics
Aug 8, Wed

Inefficient Sorting under Output Sharing

Lam Wing Tung
Yale-NUS College
Aug 10, Fri

Identification in Nonparametric Models for Dynamic Treatment Effects

Sukjin Han
University of Texas at Austin
Aug 14, Tue Industrial policies in production networks Ernest Liu
Princeton University
Aug 15, Wed 4.30-5.45pm Lowering the bar and limiting the field: The effect of strategic risk-taking on selection contests Dawei Fang
Gothenburg University
Aug 16, Thu The Jesuits and Chinese Science Chicheng Ma
University of Hong Kong
Aug 21, Tue Household Saving, Financial Constraints, and the Current Account in China Kai Zhao
University of Connecticut
Aug 23, Thu Runoff Elections in the Lab Aniol Llorente-Saguer
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 24, Fri 10.30-12pm

Endowments, Exclusion, and Exchange

Venue: AS2/05-09

Maciej Kotowski
Harvard University
Aug 24, Fri

Survival of the fittest: the impact of the minimum wage of firm exit

Venue: AS2/05-09

Michael Luca
Harvard University
Aug 28, Tue Barriers to Mobility or Sorting? Sources and Aggregate Implications of Income Gaps across Sectors and Locations in Indonesia Tomasz Swiecki
University of British Columbia

Aug 29, Wed

2:30-4pm

Industrial policies in production networks

Ernest Liu
Princeton University
Aug 29, Wed Information Design in Multi-stage Games. Ludovic Renou
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 30, Thu

Behavioural Consequences of Adverse Early Life Experience: The Impact of the Culture Revolution

Xin Meng
Australian National University
Sep 3, Mon   Harald Uhlig
University of Chicago
Sep 4, Tue The Nature of Firm Growth Petr Sedlacek
University of Oxford
Sep 5, Wed Integrating School Districts: Balance, Diversity and Welfare Isa Hafalir
University of Technology Sydney
Sep 6, Thu Do incentives for primary care physicians to manage patients with chronic disease work? Evidence from rural China Karen Eggleston
Stanford University
Sep 11, Tue

Nonlinear Household Earnings Dynamics, Self-Insurance, And Welfare

Giulio Fella
Queen Mary University of London
Sep 12, Wed False Information and Disagreement in Social Networks Evan Sadler
Columbia University
Sep 13, Thu   Brian Viard
Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Sep 18, Tue Agnostic Structural Disturbances (ASDs): Detecting and Reducing Misspecification in Empirical Macroeconomic Models Wouter den Haan
London School of Economics
Sep 19, Wed   Joel Sobel
University of California, San Diego
Sep 20, Thu What makes a successful entrepreneur? The effect of elite college and intergenerational transfer Naijia Guo
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sep 24, Mon Optimal Management of Evolving Hierarchies Jens Leth Hougaard
University of Copenhagen
Sep 27, Thu   Hongliang Zhang
Hong Kong Baptist University
Oct 2, Tue Money, Banking and Financial Markets Fernando Martin
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Oct 2, Tue   Kjell G. Salvanes
Norwegian School of Economics
Oct 4, Thu   Xiaoyan Lei
Peking University
Oct 5, Fri Prices and Inflation when Government Bonds are Net Wealth Marcus Haagedon
University of Oslo
Oct 9, Tue   Ivan Jaccard
European Central Bank
Oct 10, Wed Stefano Barbieri
Tulane University
Oct 11, Thu Environment-Enhanced Momentum and the Demand for Environmental Quality Alberto Salvo
National University of Singapore
Oct 16, Tue   Thomas Lubik
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Oct 17, Wed Organizations and Coordination in a Diverse Population Liang Dai
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Oct 18, Thu

Erosion of State Power and the Political Boundaries of Corruption

Yang Xie
University of California, Riverside
Oct 19, Fri On The Volume of Redistribution: Across Income Levels and Across Groups Ravi Kanbur
Cornell University
Oct 23, Tue The Geography of Path Dependence Treb Allen
Dartmouth College
Oct 24, Wed

Money as minimal complexity

Graphical exchange mechanisms

Pradeep Dubey
Stony Brook University
Oct 30, Tue   Timo Boppart
Stockholm University
Oct 31, Wed Quality Versus Fit: Market Design and Externalities on Multidimensional Matching Platforms. Samuel Flanders
Asia School of Business
Nov 1, Thu   John Ham
New York University
Nov 5, Mon   Diego Restuccia
University of Toronto
Nov 8, Thu   Melanie Wasserman
University of California, Los Angeles
Nov 9, Fri   Shraman Banerjee
O.P.Jindal Global University
Nov 13, Tue   Cyril Monnet
University of Bern
Nov 14, Wed   Barton Lipman
Boston University
Nov 20, Tue   Leo Kaas
Goethe University Frankfurt
Nov 21, Wed   Ye (Wendy) Jin
NYU Shanghai
Nov 22, Thu   Jia Li
Duke University
Nov 23, Fri   Qihui Chen
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Nov 23, Fri   Julieta Caunedo
Cornell University
Nov 27, Tue   Jan Eeckhout
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Nov 28, Wed   Juan Moreno-Ternero
University of Warwick
Nov 29, Thu   James Fenske
University of Warwick
Dec 6, Thu   Donald Davis
Columbia University
Dec 6, Thu   David C.Chan
Standord University