Department of Economics

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Header

Seminar Series

All seminars are held at the Lim Tay Boh Seminar Room (AS2 03-12), from 4pm to 5:30pm unless otherwise stated. The upcoming seminars are subject to change.


Special Term, AY2019/2020


Date Topic Speaker
Wed, 13 May
(9am-10:30am)
Persuasion on Networks
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Konstantin Sonin, University of Chicago
Wed, 10 Jun
(9am-10:30am)
A Theory of Elite-Initiated Democratization Illustrated with the Case of Myanmar (joint with Jim Fearon)
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Patrick Francois, University of British Columbia
Wed, 17 Jun Escaping the Climate Trap? Values, Technologies, and Politics
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Timothy Besley, London School of Economics
Wed, 24 Jun Identity, Beliefs, and Political Conflict
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Guido Tabellini, Bocconi University
Wed, 22 Jul Markets Price Politicians: Evidence from China’s Municipal Bond Markets
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Yang Yao, Peking University


Semester 1, AY2020/2021


Date Topic Speaker
Tue, 04 Aug TBC Fernando Parro, Pennsylvania State University
Wed, 05 Aug
(9am-10:30am)
Implications of Covid-19 for the Global Political Economy
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Glen Weyl, Microsoft
Tue, 11 Aug TBC Maggie Chen, George Washington University
Wed, 12 Aug
(9am-10:30am)
TBC
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
David Yang, Harvard University
Thu, 13 Aug TBC Xiaoxia Shi, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Thu, 13 Aug TBC Andrian Bruhin, University of Lausanne
Mon, 17 Aug TBC Kei-Mu Yi, University of Huston
Mon, 17 Aug TBC Leland Farmer, University of Virginia
Thu, 20 Aug TBC Shaoda Wang, University of Chicago
Tue, 01 Sep TBC Yasuo Hirose, Keio University
Mon, 07 Sep TBC Francis DiTraglia, University of Oxford
Wed, 09 Sep
(9am-10:30am)
TBC
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Gérard Roland, University of California, Berkeley
Wed, 09 Sep TBC Angel, Herando-Veciana, Durham University
Mon, 14 Sep TBC Veronica Rappoport, LSE
Tue, 15 Sep TBC Pablo Cuba-Borda, Federal Reserve Board
Wed, 16 Sep
(9am-10:30am)
State-Building Lessons From The British Empire
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Roger Myerson, University of Chicago
Tue, 29 Sep TBC Ludwig Straub, Harvard University
Wed, 30 Sep TBC
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
David Stromberg, Stockholm University
Tue, 06 Oct TBC Christian Matthes, Indiana University
Wed, 7 Oct
(9am-10:30am)
TBC
(Joint ZOOM Seminar with HKBU, CEIBS, and National Taiwan University)
Steven Callander, Stanford University
Wed, 07 Oct TBC David Freeman, Simon Fraser University
Mon, 12 Oct TBC Myung Hwan Seo, Seoul National University
Mon, 12 Oct TBC Toshihiko Mukoyama, Georgetown
Tue, 13 Oct TBC Jake Zhao, Peking University
Wed, 14 Oct TBC Baucells, Manel University of Virginia
Tue, 20 Oct TBC Lu Dan, The Chinese Univeristy of Hong Kong
Tue, 27 Oct TBC Edouard Challe, Ecole Polytechnique/CREST
Wed, 28 Oct TBC Vitor Farinha Luz, University of British Columbia
Thu, 29 Oct TBC Kevin Lang, Boston University
Mon, 02 Nov TBC Xibin Zhang, Monash University
Tue, 03 Nov TBC Ponpoje Porapakkarm, GRIPS
Tue, 10 Nov TBC Pedro Gomis Porqueras, Deakin University
Thu, 12 Nov TBC Kjell Salvanes, Norwegian School of Economics
Tue, 24 Nov TBC Fabrizio Mattesini, U Rome
Tue, 01 Dec TBC Kevin Donovan, Yale
Tue, 08 Dec TBC Emily Blanchard, Dartmouth
Tue, 15 Dec TBC Cathy Zhang, Purdue University
Thu, 17 Dec TBC Francesco Trebbi, UBC
Fri, 18 Dec TBC Matilde Bombardini, UBC