Department of Economics

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

12Header

Seminar Series

   
 
Seminars
2013 Asia Summer Institute in Behavioral Economics
Asian Meeting of the Econometric Society 2013
Past Events
The Department of Economics Seminars Series is usually held from Monday to Thursday, 4 - 5.30 pm.

All seminars are held at the Lim Tay Boh Seminar Room (AS2 03-12) unless otherwise mentioned. Upcoming seminars are subject to change.

If you are interested to present a seminar, please email Assoc Prof ZHONG Songfa.

To join the mailing list,
NUS users - https://groups.nus.edu.sg/NUSgroups/join.asp?groupname=ecs-seminar;
Others - Click to email

Semester 2, 2017/2018


Date
Topic
Speaker
Jan 25, Thu A Structural Model of Correlated Learning and Late-Mover Advantages: The Case of Statins Andrew Ching
University of Toronto
Feb 1, Thu Pledge-and-Review Bargaining Bard Harstad
University of Oslo
Feb 2, Fri,
AS2 05-10
Price Customization and Targeting in Many-to-Many Matching Markets Alessandro Pavan
Northwestern University
Feb 20, Tue

Detecting deviations from stationarity of functional time series

(Joint Economics & Statistics)

Alexander Aue
University of California, Davis
Feb 23, Fri
AS2 05-10
Air Pollution, Health Spending and Willingness to Pay for Clean Air in China Shanjun Li
Cornell University
Feb 27, Tue Group formation and diversity Ming Li
Concordia University
Mar 1, Thu Temperature and Decisions: Evidence from 207 000 Court Cases Anthony Heyes
University of Ottawa
Mar 5, Mon The geography of consumption Ferdinando Monte
Georgetown University
Mar 6, Tue Expectations, Networks, and Conventions Benjamin Golub
Harvard University
Mar 7, Wed

1.Trend Inflation and Evolving Inflation Dynamics: A Bayesian GMM Analysis of the Generalized New Keynesian Phillips Curve

2.Quasi-Bayesian Model Selection

Mototsugu Shintani
University of Tokyo
Mar 8, Thu Parental Time and Material Investments in Rural Thailand Weerachart Kilenthong
University of the Thai Chamber of Commerce
Mar 12, Mon Pricing When Customers Care about Fairness but Misinfer Markups Pascal Michaillat
Brown University
Mar 13, Tue Additive Belief-Based Utility' Collin Raymond
Purdue University
Mar 14, Wed
Regressive Sin Taxes, with an Application to the Optimal Soda Tax Hunt Allcott
New York University
Mar 15, Thu Borrowing to Save? The Impact of Automatic Enrollment on Debt Brigitte Madrian
Harvard University
Mar 16, Fri
2-3:30 pm
Coming apart? Lives of the rich and the poor over time Marianne Bertrand
University of Chicago
Mar 16, Fri
AS2 05-10
Linear–quadratic–Gaussian (LQG) information design Takashi Ui
Hitotsubashi University
Mar 19, Mon Urbanization, Structural Transformation and
Rural-Urban Disparities in China and India
Amartya Lahiri
University of British Columbia
Mar 20, Tue Kidney exchange with immunosuppressants Youngsub Chun
Seoul National University
Mar 22, Thu

Mechanism Design Meets Development: Selective Trials for Technology Diffusion

Erik Snowberg
University of British Columbia
Mar 23, Fri
2-3:30 pm AS2 05-10

The CES distribution circle and its decoupling

Economic distributions and primitive distributions in Monopolistic Competition

Simon Anderson
University of Virginia
Mar 23, Fri
AS2 05-10
Optimal Debt-Maturity Management Saki Bigio
University of California, Los Angeles
Mar 26, Mon Revisiting the Costs of Self-Oriented National Monetary Rules Martin Bodenstein
Federal Reserve Board
Mar 27, Tue

Hard-to-Interpret Signals

Lim Tay Boh Memorial Lecture

Larry Epstein
Professor, Boston University
Lim Tay Boh Distinguished Visitor, NUS
Mar 28, Wed Simple and Trustworthy Cluster-Robust GMM Inference Jungbin Hwang
University of Connecticut
Apr 2, Mon

Valuing Information by Distinction

Ziv Hellman
Bar Ilan University
Apr 3, Tue Representativeness and Similarity Chen Zhao
University of Hong Kong
Apr 5, Thu

How Does Violence Affect Exporters? Evidence from Political Strikes in Bangladesh

Reshad Ahsan
University of Melbourne
Apr 9, Mon Irrigation and Agricultural Productivity Jan Grobovšek
University of Edinburgh
Apr 10, Tue Ambiguous Persuasion Jian Li
McGill University
Apr 12, Thu Turning a Blind Eye? On the Political Economy of Environmental Regulation in China Junjie Zhang
Duke Kunshan University
Apr 13, Fri
AS2 05-10
Optimal Languages Francesc Dilme
University of Bonn
Apr 16, Mon Is Processing Good? Peter Morrow
University of Toronto
Apr 17, Tue Selling to Consumers with Intransitive Indifference Kim-Sau Chung
Hong Kong Baptist University
Apr 18, Wed 2:30-4pm

Labor Market Dynamics of Developing Economies: The Role of Subsistence Consumption

Sangyup (Sam) Choi
Yonsei University
Apr 18, Wed The Long-Run Effect of Public Housing Demolition on Children Eric Chyn
University of Virginia
Apr 19, Thu How success breeds success Lionel Page
Queensland University of Technology
Apr 20, Fri
AS2 05-10
Behavioral Characterizations of Naivete for Time-Inconsistent Preferences David Ahn
University of California, Berkeley
Apr 23, Mon

Monetary and Financial Policies in Emerging Markets

Kosuke Aoki
University of Tokyo
Apr 24, Tue Revenue sharing on hierarchies Biung-Ghi Ju
Seoul National University
Apr 26, Thu Production Networks, Trade, and Misallocation Heiwai Tang
Johns Hopkins University
Apr 27, Fri
AS2 05-10
Behavioral Bargaining Yoram Halevy
University of Toronto
Apr 30, Mon Macroeconomic Fluctuations with HANK &
SAM: an Analytical Approach
Morten Ravn
University College London
Apr 30, Mon @ ?
2-3:30pm
How Many Levels do Player's Reason? An Observational Challenge and Solution
Amanda Friedenberg
Arizona State University
May 4, Fri @ AS2 05-10 Algorithms for cautious reasoning in games Geir Asheim
University of Oslo
May 7, Mon

Skill-Biased Structural Change

Joseph Kaboski
University of Notre Dame
May 8, Tue, 2-3:30pm

What Does It Take to Be “Melitz”? 

Jiahua Che
China Europe International Business School
May 8, Tue On Average Establishment Size across Sectors and Countries Pedro Bento
Texas A&M University
May 9, Wed Improved Inference for the Rank of a Matrix Zheng Fang
Texas A&M University
May 14, Mon Optimal Index versus Simple Index for Monetary Policy Jae Won Lee
University of Virginia
May 15, Tue Model Uncertainty, Ambiguity Aversion, and Market Participation  Chong Huang
University of California, Irvine
May 16, Wed

Identification and Persistence-Robust Exact Inference in DSGE Models

Zhenjiang Lin
University of Nottingham Ningbo
May 17, Thu

Environmental Regulation and Firm Productivity: Estimates from a Regression Discontinuity Design

Guojun He
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
May 21, Mon Optimal Taxation with Private Insurance Yongsung Chang
University of Rochester
May 24, Thu Of Cities and Slums Alexander Monge-Naranjo
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
May 28, Mon Search, Screening and Sorting Ronald Wolthoff
University of Toronto
May 31, Thu Childbearing Postponement, its Option Value, and the Biological Clock David de la Croix
Université catholique de Louvain
Jul 01, Fri Patent Protection in Developing Countries and Global Welfare: WTO Obligations versus flexibilities Eric Bond
Vanderbilt University
Jun 07, Thu Dynamic Responses to Immigration Mark Colas
University of Oregon
Jun 12, Tue Gold and Trade: An empirical simulation approach Florian Ploeckl
University of Adelaide
Jul 03, Tue Bayesian Identification: A Theory of State-Dependent Utilities Jay Lu
University of California, Los Angeles
Jul 05, Thu Understanding Quality Upgrading Dynamics: China’s Automobile Industry Jie Bai
Harvard University
Jul 12, Thu Confidence Intervals for Projections of Partially Identified Parameters Hiroaki Kaido
Boston University
Jul 27, Wed   Vivian Zhanwei Yue
University of Adelaide
Aug 2, Thu   Panle Jia Barwick
Cornell University
Aug 7, Tue The Gains from Financial Inclusion: Theory and a Quantitative Assessment Maitreesh Ghatak
London School of Economics
Aug 8, Wed

Inefficient Sorting under Output Sharing

Lam Wing Tung
Yale-NUS College
Aug 14, Tue   Ernest Liu
Princeton University
Aug 15, Wed Lowering the bar and limiting the field: The effect of strategic risk-taking on selection contests Dawei Fang
Gothenburg University
Aug 16, Thu   Chicheng Ma
University of Hong Kong
Aug 23, Thu   Aniol Llorente-Saguer
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 24, Fri   Maciej Kotowski
Harvard University
Aug 28, Tue Barriers to Mobility or Sorting? Sources and Aggregate Implications of Income Gaps across Sectors and Locations in Indonesia Tomasz Swiecki
University of British Columbia
Aug 29, Wed Information Design in Multi-stage Games. Ludovic Renou
Queen Mary University of London
Aug 30, Thu   Xin Meng
Australian National University
Sep 3, Mon   Harald Uhlig
University of Chicago
Sep 4, Tue   Petr Sedlacek
University of Oxford
Sep 5, Wed   Isa Hafalir
University of Technology Sydney
Sep 6, Thu   Karen Eggleston
Stanford University
Sep 11, Tue   Giulio Fella
Queen Mary University of London
Sep 12, Wed   Evan Sadler
Columbia University
Sep 13, Thu   Brian Viard
Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Sep 18, Tue   Wouter den Haan
London School of Economics
Sep 19, Wed   Joel Sobel
University of California, San Diego
Sep 20, Thu   Naijia Guo
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sep 24, Mon   Jens Leth Hougaard
University of Copenhagen
Sep 25, Tue   Natalia Ramondo
University of California, San Diego
Sep 27, Thu   Hongliang Zhang
Hong Kong Baptist University
Oct 2, Tue   Fernando Martin
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Oct 4, Thu   Xiaoyan Lei
Peking University
Oct 9, Tue   Ivan Jaccard
European Central Bank
Oct 10, Wed   Stefano Barbieri
Tulane University
Oct 11, Thu   Alberto Salvo
National University of Singapore
Oct 16, Tue   Thomas Lubik
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Oct 18, Thu   Yang Xie
University of California, Riverside
Oct 19, Fri   Ravi Kanbur
Cornell University
Oct 23, Tue   Treb Allen
Dartmouth College
Oct 24, Wed   Pradeep Dubey
Stony Brook University
Oct 30, Tue   Timo Boppart
Stockholm University
Oct 31, Wed   Samuel Flanders
Asia School of Business
Nov 1, Thu   John Ham
New York University
Nov 5, Mon   Diego Restuccia
University of Toronto
Nov 8, Thu   Melanie Wasserman
University of California, Los Angeles
Nov 13, Tue   Cyril Monnet
University of Bern
Nov 14, Wed   Barton Lipman
Boston University
Nov 20, Tue   Leo Kaas
Goethe University Frankfurt
Nov 21, Wed   Ye (Wendy) Jin
NYU Shanghai
Nov 22, Thu   Jia Li
Duke University
Nov 23, Fri   Qihui Chen
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Nov 27, Tue   Jan Eeckhout
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Nov 29, Thu   James Fenske
University of Warwick
Dec 6, Thu   Donald Davis
Columbia University