Research Programmes

Financial Aid

President’s Graduate Fellowship

The President’s Graduate Fellowship (PGF) is available for only full-time PhD students. The PGF covers the full tuition fee, i.e., the scholar’s tuition fee is paid for by the University and provides a monthly stipend as follows:


Monthly Stipend
Singapore Citizen 
Singapore Permanent Resident
International Student


In addition to the stipend, there will be a one-off air travel allowance for one-way ticket of up to S$750 and settling allowance of $1,000, only for newly registered overseas students.

PGF recipients are not eligible for the PhD top-up upon passing the PhD Qualifying Examination.

The fellowship is tenable for one year in the first instance; but subject to the awardee's satisfactory progress, it may be renewed each semester. The award for the fellowship is four years from the date of the registration of candidature. This applies to NUS research scholars who are selected for the Fellowship mid-way through their research scholarship.

The renewal of the fellowship is tied in with the submission of your semestral research progress report. Your supervisor(s), Head of Department/Programme and Faculty will complete their assessments and make recommendations for continuation of your fellowship. This will take place in September (for assessment of research progress in Semester 2 of the previous Academic Year) and February (for assessment of research progress in Semester 1 of the current Academic Year). If you do not complete the report by the stipulated time, your fellowship will be withheld.

While each renewal of a fellowship will usually be for a period of six months, a shorter period of renewal or no renewal may result if your progress is found to be unsatisfactory. Your progress will be graded by your supervisor(s) in the half-yearly progress report and submitted to the Faculty. Please note that if your progress is found to be unsatisfactory before the renewal is due, your fellowship can be terminated without notice and no reinstatement of the fellowship can be granted. To be considered for a renewal, you must complete a minimum of two graded modules per semester, which must count towards your CAP, and obtained a minimum CAP of 4.00 in the coursework component. For the research component, your research progress review would have to be rated as “Very Good” and above. You must also pass the PhD QE within the stipulated period (no later than the 24th month from the date of commencement of candidature).

The duration of PGF is four years, from the date of registration of your candidature, and will end before the maximum period of your candidature. No extension of PGF can be granted. You should complete your thesis and submit it for examination before the end-date of your PGF. If you are not able to submit your thesis for examination by the time your PGF ends, please note that you will have to work on your thesis without any financial support from the University. Should you apply for leave of absence during your PGF award period, the end-date of PGF will not be extended as a result of your leave.

Please read carefully the agreement that you have signed with the University, and the terms and conditions of the award. A copy of the current terms and conditions can be accessed here.

Application by current students 

If you are a current research scholar and wish to be considered for a PGF, you must:

  • Complete a minimum of two graded modules per semester, which count towards your Cumulative Average Point (CAP), and obtain a minimum CAP of 4.50.
  • Demonstrate an ability to conduct independent research, example, independent study module, a chapter of your thesis, a conference paper, etc.
  • Have also passed the PhD Qualifying Examination within the stipulated period (no later than the 24th month from the date of commencement of candidature). The Graduate Scholarships Selection Committee meets twice a year.

Write to the Head of Department through your supervisor(s) by 1 November (for consideration of award with effect from August of the following year) or 15 May (for consideration of award with effect from January of the following year) for the Department’s recommendation and onward submission to the Committee.