Alumni News

Nikki Serranilla Briones (PhD 2010, Philippines)

Nikki Briones was awarded the Wang Gungwu Medal and Prize for AY2010-2011 for the Best PhD Thesis in the Social Sciences/Humanities. Her thesis is titled 'From War Dance to Theater of War: A Study of Moro-Moro Performances in the Philippines'.

Koh Kim Seng (PhD 2010, Singapore)

Koh Kim Seng has turned his thesis into a book entitled Misunderstood Myanmar – An Introspective Study of a Southeast Asian State in Transition. The book is available at all leading book shops or directly from the following address: Marplan Pte Ltd, 51 Thomson Road, 181B Goldhill Centre, Singapore 307627. Email:

Davisakd Puaksom (PhD 2008, Thailand)

Davisakd Puaksom was awarded the inaugural Wang Gungwu Medal and Prize for AY2007-2008 for the Best PhD Thesis in the Social Sciences/Humanities. His thesis is titled 'The Pursuit of Java: Thai Panji Stories, Melayu Lingua Franca, and the Question of Translation'.

Ng Sue Chia (BA Hons 2003, Singapore)

Ng Sue Chia's Honours thesis 'Threads of Gold: The Rise of Indochinese Enterprises in Terengganu' was spotted by a German Publishing house (VDM-Publishing) and was approved for commercial publication. The book has been released and can be purchased from

Alvin Cheng-Hin Lim (BA 1998, Singapore)

Alvin Cheng-Hin Lim, an alumnus of the Southeast Asian Studies Programme who majored in Southeast Asian Studies and Philosophy, has published a book titled 'Cambodia and the Politics of Aesthetics'. He is now an Assistant Professor in International and Comparative Politics at the American University of Nigeria. Alvin received his Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. He previously lectured at Pannasastra University of Cambodia. His list of publications include “Breakfast with the Dictator: Memory, Atrocity, and Affect.” Theory & Event 13, no. 4 (2010) and “Reassembling Memory: Rithy Panh’s S-21: The Khmer Rouge Killing Machine.” In The New Violent Cartography: Geo-analysis After the Aesthetic Turn, edited by Sam Okoth Opondo and Michael J. Shapiro. New York, NY: Routledge (2011).