Open Positions


Read More

DERC in recess

The DERC is in recess from 1 June 2017 to 31 July 2017.

Faculty Excellent Teacher Award - A/P Joonmo Son and Dr Feng Qiushi

We are pleased to announce that A/P Joonmo Son and Dr Feng Qiushi have been awarded the Faculty Excellent Teacher Award for AY2015/2016.
The Faculty Excellent Teacher Award is awarded to faculty members who have displayed a high level of commitment to their teaching. The winners are selected based on peer reviews, student feedback and exposition of their teaching philosophy.
Our warmest congratulations to both!

ISA RC28 Conference, 26 to 28 May 2016, NUS

The ISA RC28 Conference on "Intergenerational Transfer, Human Capital and Inequality" was held from 26 to 28 May 2016 in NUS. Hosted by the Centre for Family and Population Research (CFPR), the conference was attended by more than 250 scholars from over 30 countries, together with Singapore policy makers. The Guest-of-Honour for the event was Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Singapore Deputy Prime Minister & Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies, and the Keynote Speaker was Dr Noeleen Heyzer, Social Scientist and Former Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Member, NUS Board of Trustees.

Read more about the conference highlights

Outstanding Educator Award - A/P Paulin Straughan

Our heartiest congratulations to A/P Paulin Straughan for winning the Outstanding Educator Award 2016. The Outstanding Educator Award is given out annually to honour faculty members who have shown outstanding and sustained performance, dedication and commitment to teaching.

Read more about A/P Straughan's achievement

Sociologist of the Month for Current Sociology - Prof Vineeta Sinha

Prof Vineeta Sinha has been featured as Sociologist of the Month for Current Sociology for April 2016.

Read more about Prof Sinha's work

Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies - A/P Ganapathy Narayanan

Congratulations to A/P Ganapathy Narayanan for being appointed Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies, FASS from 1 January to 31 December 2016.
We wish him all the best in his new role!

Faculty Award for Promising Researcher - A/P Kelvin Low

Congratulations to A/P Kelvin Low for winning the Faculty Award for Promising Researcher 2015/2016. The Faculty Award for Promising Researcher is presented to researchers who have produced research that shows potential impact and promise.

Read more about A/P Low's work

Provost's Chair Professors - Prof Chua Beng Huat and Prof Jean Yeung

Prof Chua Beng Huat and Prof Jean Yeung have been appointed by the University as Provost's Chair Professors, in recognition of their outstanding and impactful scholarly accomplishments, which are internationally acknowledged.