NUS Singapore History Prize

14 November, 2014

In support of the national SG50 programme to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Singapore’s independence next year, the Department of History has introduced the NUS Singapore History Prize, the first ever prize devoted entirely to Singapore history. It will be awarded to an outstanding publication that will make a lasting impact on Singaporeans’ understanding of the country’s history.

The author of the winning publication will receive a cash award of S$50,000 and also speak at a public lecture hosted by the Department of History, during which the Prize will be presented. Nominations for the Prize will open from 1 January 2015 onwards, and the inaugural award will be presented in late 2017.

The jury which will pick the winner includes Claire Chiang, senior vice-president of Banyan Tree Holdings, Professor Wang Gungwu, chairman of the East Asian Institute at NUS and Professor Mahbubani, dean of Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

Click here to read learn more about the NUS Singapore History Prize.